Generation 3: Chapter 9

Gray’s POV

Screenshot-124

“Do we have to mom,” I whined, looking up at my mother, who held my sister on her hip. Jaden stood beside me, rolling his eyes. It wasn’t my fault school sucked. Even he would agree with me on that.

“Yes Gray. Don’t whine this morning,” She said, ruffling my  hair. “I’ve heard enough of it from your sister.”

Screenshot-125

“Where’s Dad?” Jaden asked.

Screenshot-132

“He got an emergency call this morning,” Mom answered, putting Grace in her highchair.

“I bet somebody got their nose cut off or something,” I said, snickering. Jaden looked at me, and gave a smirk.

Screenshot-136

“Or they caught their hair on fire.” He said, snickering.

My mother turned and rolled her eyes at us. “Well, that would be rather unfortunate.”

“And funny.”

“Where’s Jake? Shouldn’t he be down by now?” I asked.

“Jake’s sick this morning, so you guys are taking the bus.”

“Gross,” My twin and I said in sync.

She rolled her eyes again, and looked at the clock on the wall.

“Hey, the bus is about to be here. Don’t miss it,” She said, shooing us out the door.

“Do good at school,” She said, though it didn’t really mean much. Jaden and I were the smartest kids in our class. Personally, I think it’s because we have doctor genes, but there’s a funny rumor going around that we can read each other’s minds, and use our mind reading abilities to cheat on tests.


Jake’s POV

I wasn’t the biggest fan of lying, especially not to my sister, but sometimes I just got into one of those moods where I just couldn’t deal with going to school. Today, I was in one of those moods.

Fortunately, I wasn’t going to suffer through this alone. I’d managed to tell my girlfriend, Kaylee, about my plan not to go to school, and she’d followed it as well.

I told Jane not to check up on me, so I should be good for a few hours, I quietly changed, and crept around my room, before silently climbing out the window to meet Kaylee so that we could go to the fair that had just arrived.


Jaden’s POV

Screenshot-138

At recess, unless there was a major game going on, Gray and I typically kept to ourselves. That normally meant taking up residence on the closest swing set.

Gray and I had each other. We were never lonely, as we were never alone. We had other friends, sure, but when you had the bond of a twin, other friendships seemed insignificant.

We needed each other as well. Gray was the one who typically spoke for us, and I was the one who typically thought for us. We were both intelligent, of course, and both could speak well, but we had found ourselves comfortable in the routine we were in now.

 

Screenshot-142We had been swinging on the swings for a while, when Gray suddenly jumped right off while still high in the air. I began to slow myself  down in an attempt to stop.

“Why’re you stopping?” My brother asked, puzzled.

“You stopped, soI did too.”

“Oh, well I was just going to the bathroom. It’ll only take a sec.”

“Do you want me to go with you?”

“Nah, I’ll be fine.”Gray said, and ran off, leaving me alone on the swings.

Screenshot-150

“Hey you!” A voice called. I looked over to see Scott Forcus, the meanest kid in our grade. Unsure of how to react, I pointed to myself in confusion.

“Yeah, you! Get up freak!” Scared, and a little hurt by what he said, I slowly stood up.

Screenshot-154

“Your freak brother’s not here, is freak,” Scott spat, looking at me with a hateful glare I wasn’t so sure I deserved.

Screenshot-159

“He went to the bathroom,” I said,  trying to keep my voice calm.

“Really? Probably to piss his pants like the little girl he is,” Scott said, laughing, reminding me of the nature videos that featured hyenas.

Screenshot-161

“And what’s so wrong with being like a little girl?” A soft voice asked behind Scott. Scott turned to see a girl I had never seen before. She was wearing a dress, and looked as though she couldn’t hurt a fly.

Screenshot-162

“Girl’s are stupid and weak.” Scott scoffed. The girl took a long look at him before punching him square in the face. Fat tears began to roll down Scott’s face as his nose bled, and began to run away, sobbing.

I stared at the girl in shock.  She gave me a hard look.

“What’re you starin’ at?” She asked. I began to shake my head frantically.

“N-Nothing.”

Screenshot-167

“Stop mumbling! What are you staring at?” She asked, frustration beginning to show on her face.

“You punched Scott!”

“Didn’t you want to do the same? After all, I heard what he said.”

“I don’t know if I would have punched him.”

The girl threw her hands up in frustration. “There’s just no pleasing you, is there?”

I shrugged, scared to say something that would anger the increasingly intimidating girl.

“I’m Jaden.” I settled for saying.

“I’m Melisandra.”

Screenshot-171

“Ugh..”

“Just call me Melly. Everyone does.”

Screenshot-182

“Jaden! Did you see Scott Forkus crying like a baby?! I swear, I could kiss whoever made that happen,” Gray yelled as he ran towards Melly and I.

“I’ll have to say no to the kiss, if that’s fine with you,” Melly said. Gray looked over at Melly in surprise.

“Dude! That’s awesome!”

“Thanks,” Melly said, a slight smile on her face. “I’m Melly.”

“Gray.”

“You’re named after a color? I thought only girls were named after colors.”

Gray blushed for a moment, but then regained what little cool he had. “There aren’t many boys awesome enough to have this name.”

“Okay,” Melly said, nodding her head.

Screenshot-179

“Hey, do you want to swing with us?” I asked. To both mine and Gray’s surprise, Melly’s slight smile turned into a large grin.

“Sure! I just hope you don’t get mad when I go the highest.”

Gray and I exchanged looks, each thinking the same thing.

Screenshot-184

This is the beginning of a beautiful friendship.


Jake’s POV

Spending the day with Kaylee at the fair was better than anything I could have done at school. I’d even managed to win her a small bear that was a keychain.

Screenshot-187

“I wish we could do this everyday,” Kaylee said, looking up at me. I kissed her forehead in response.

Screenshot-188

“I do too.” Kaylee seemed a little down, so I did something that always made her happy. I lifted her up and kissed her while I held her.

“Jake!” She squealed before kissing me.

I finally put her down. “You know, you leave me breathless.”

Kaylee swatted at my arm. “Don’t even joked about that.”

“I know,” I said, sighing, and holding her close. All of a sudden I began to feel dizzy and clammy. My vision was growing blurry, and my lungs felt as though they were constricting. I was falling.

The last thing I remember hearing was Kaylee screaming my name.

 


RJ’s POV

Despite how hard I tried to fight them, tears began to roll down my face as I looked at my brother-in-law. He was paler than usual. His skin looked waxy.

I felt a hand on my shoulder. I turned to see Dr. Hamming, a somber look on his face.

“Go tell you wife, RJ. ”

I nodded, and made my way to the waiting room where Jane was waiting alone, as she had dropped the children off at my Uncle Archer’s.

Screenshot-185

“RJ?” She asked frantically. I looked her in the eyes, and she knew from the tears rolling down my face that he was gone. Large tears began to roll down her own face. I put my arms around her like I did so many years ago in this very room when she learned that her father had died. She’d been waiting here alone then, too.

“I couldn’t save him,” I whispered. She gripped my shirt tightly.

“You tried,” She said in reply. We stood there crying until our bodies ran dry.


 

Please do not hurt me! I really didn’t want Jake to die! Trust me, I cried about as much as I did when Rowan died. Let’s see, the next chapter is for sure the last chapter of Generation 3, and then there will be the beloved heir poll! Yay! I have to say, I’ve loved RJ so much, it hurts at the thought that I’ve got to let him go…

3 thoughts on “Generation 3: Chapter 9”

    1. Even funnier is the fact that I had this written before your chapter that made my heart hurt…If it makes you feel any better,Jake wasn’t supposed to last this long, anyway… 😦 I was very tempted to let him grow up and marry Kaylee and have red headed babies, but alas, it wasn’t meant to be… 😦

Leave a comment